Knitting and Crocheting Cowls and More

Early this winter I developed a love for making cowls, which are like draped scarves worn around one’s neck.  North Florida does get cold in the winter, although not usually for long stretches.  I looked through Pinterest (my latest online addiction) and found some beautiful cowls, as well as how to finish them using a Möbius, where I gave one end a half twist and then joined the two ends of the scarf together to form a loop.  This is my first crocheted cowl, very easy and comfortable.

crocheted cowl1

 

A couple of summers ago I found a great book in the library, Stitch ‘N Bitch by Debbie Stoller. For some reason her story about the frustrations of starting and stopping knitting over several years resonated with me.  Finally one time while traveling, she picked up an unfinished knitting project and the craft finally clicked with her. The same thing is now happening with me.  Back in the early 1970’s I signed up for a community education knitting class.  The woman who taught the class out of her home made knitting seem very easy.  I progressed to the point where I was working on a cabled vest, a pattern I still have in my craft book stash.  However, in 1978 I moved to Oregon and never found another talented knitting teacher, nor friends who loved knitting.

This winter I’ve finally found a knitting group in Pensacola.  My first meeting with the group is in a couple of weeks.  Too antsy to wait for help, I read the first few chapters of Stitch ‘N Bitch, found a garter stitch cowl on Pinterest, bought some variegated yarn on sale at Jo-Anne’s and started knitting.  Here is the finished project.

knit cowl1

Still two weeks shy of meeting with the knitting group, I started my second project, a hat made using a stockinette stitch, which meant teaching myself to knit in the round using circular needles.  Then I discovered the hard way that there are cheap circular needles with cables that defy being straightened and there are expensive needles with perfect cables.  I’m going to invest in better needles because knitting in the round is fun.  But knitting with cables that are more like memory wire is frustrating.  I’m already addicted to knitting  and will probably have a dozen ski hats by the end of the year.  Thanks to Pinterest I’ve also discovered Fair Isle knitting patterns too (creating patterns from multiple colors).

I had someone suggest that I have ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder) because I am so curious and will try to learn many unusual crafts, going in one direction and then another.  My dad taught me that a person should never be afraid to try something new.  Where does it say that one must be good or even the best in the world at only one thing?  I guess in that sense I can call myself an artistic, creative person.   I’m easily led astray to try some new craft because something I see is sparkly, beautiful, intricate, or mysterious.  I’m not afraid of failing at something new, only of the sadness because I listened to someone say I shouldn’t try.

Leave a Reply

