Stephen King’s Doctor Sleep

I’ve been under a spell, a trance, unaware of the world around me. The lawn is over grown, the dogs need to be groomed and the laundry pile is high enough for the cat to build a tunnel. I only slipped out yesterday into the real world to buy some groceries. But finally I’m no longer held hostage. I’m alive again and an active member of society after going underground to finish Stephen King’s novel, Doctor Sleep.

Does the single word, “Redrum”, make your heart beat faster? When you hear, “Here’s Johnny!” do you think of Jack Nicholson tearing down the bathroom door with an ax? Then you may have read Stephen King’s book, The Shining, or seen the 1980 movie by the same name with Jack Nicholson. Doctor Sleep answers the question, what happened to the little boy, Danny? I hesitate to say it’s a sequel though. Doctor Sleep can stand on its own.
In my opinion, Doctor Sleep does not grab you by the skin of your pants and quickly take you into Stephen King’s thrilling world like most of his other novels. There is a slow build up while he describes the consequence of Danny’s winter at the Outlook in the Rocky Mountains. King describes the power of the Shining, a gift that few people have. In an early chapter there is a brief description of a little girl born with a caul, which occurs once in 80,000 births. I had to set the book down and Google the word, “caul”, only to be grossed out by Google itself. But the Internet search did describe the traditional beliefs surrounding someone born with this membrane, which only added to the pending storyline. I picked up the Doctor Sleep novel and at least knew why a new mother said her daughter was born without a face. How did this girl’s rare caul affect Danny, I wondered, along with asking myself how in the heck did Stephen King find out about births involving a caul?
It seems to me that Stephen King writes effortlessly. He doesn’t use a lot of adjectives or metaphors. He paints a picture using images that flow from his brain to the pages in the book and into my brain. Each reader takes something twisted from King’s painted word and interprets it into emotions of fear, excitement or trepidation. This explains why my world stands still when I have a new Stephen King novel. What emotions will his latest book evoke from me?
Early this morning, after a visit from the Terminex man, who thankfully was a man of few words, I ran back to my chair, ignored people emailing or texting me, and was thrown back into the world of Doctor Sleep, to find out if once again, good overcomes evil.
Read the book. You won’t be disappointed. Leave a note on your front door though, Do Not Disturb.
Redrum…Redrum…Redrum..

Leave a Reply

